Showing posts with label bumgenius. Show all posts
Showing posts with label bumgenius. Show all posts

Saturday, September 26, 2009

First Impressions: Cloth

Note* I recommend not reading on if you become squeamish at the mention of dirty diapers, or worse yet, at descriptions of the contents (so, for example, Kaia Joye, you may want to skip this one...)

Eden's been wearing cloth diapers for about 36 hours. I placed a big order of bumgenius diapers through Kelly's Closet the other day (Cottonbabies is also a great site). It felt risky to be putting up so much money this late in the game -- Eden is almost 16 months -- especially with a daughter who is now telling me when she has to go to the bathroom. But, I figure better late than never.

As I was waiting for my order to arrive (I am still waiting, by the way), a friend gave me a bunch of hand-me-downs, most of which are Fuzzi Bunz. And so we began.

To answer your questions:

-Yes, cloth diapers are chubbier than disposables and make her have a big bum that is especially cute with skirts. So far, all pants still fit (though I haven' t tried the snuggest ones).

-I surprisingly like the fuzzi bunz diapers better than the bumgenius because the leg holes are adjustable and I can make them snugger. I may not have the bumgenius sized right (you can change the height of it) and I will try making it smaller and tell you if that matters.

*another note is that since I am using used diapers, it's possible that they are less absorbent than new ones would be*

-She's been wearing all diapers with double inserts.

-The diapers have worked WELL during waking hours, and I've found them to be easy to use.

-The toting-extra-things deterrent has also proved not to be bad.

-I have yet to wash them. It takes one cold wash, one hot wash, and one hot rinse. (the water usage is a problem. I am choosing to fight the landfills ). THAT will be a production, but I think I'll get into the routine. But as I said, I have yet to do it...

-She SOAKED through a diaper with double inserts the first night. So last night I changed her before I went to sleep thinking this would solve the problem. It didn't. So, we'll use nature babycare disposables at night.

-She also peed through the diaper while napping. Not sure what we'll do about that, yet. I'm going to try again.

[Now that I've seen the soaked cloth, I am in awe of how much liquid disposable diapers absorb]

-There is a magical product that eases the fear of dirty cloth diapers quite a bit. I don't know the name (will find out if you want it), but essentially, it looks like a dryer sheet that you lay in the cloth diaper. If the baby poops, you lift out the dryer sheet and flush the whole thing. If the diaper is just wet, you wash the dryer sheet with the diaper and reuse it. It eases the dirty diaper deterrent.

This morning I experienced what I think must be the very worst of cloth diapering. Eden had a dirty diaper. When I pulled her pants down, I found that poop had oozed out of both diaper leg holes (bumgenius) and coated the inside of her pants. The poop was HUGE. And like glue. Glue-mud. The easy shake-the-poop-into-the-toilet trick -- well, let's say there was no shaking. More scraping. I will stop there, but the whole process lasted a long time and is not one I possibly could have done in public (though I guess i would have just thrown the whole thing in a wet bag and dealt with it at home). I can't imagine the diaper will ever become clean again. Ever. I am tempted to throw it away. But I won't. Partly because that would defeat the whole purpose. And waste a lot of money. But still, I am tempted.

The good news, though, is that I DID it. And washed my hands in scalding water for a while. And moved on. The worst is over. I should add that I didn't use one of those dryer sheets this morning, and that may have made the whole thing easier. Except for the oozing. Gross.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Cloth diapers?

This weekend I have explored the world of cloth diapering. I have ricocheted from feeling averse to brimming with enthusiasm. I have called friends across the country who use them; have explored websites (see cotton babies and keen bambino); have called & texted Jen, borrowed diapering items from her and dragged her to Target with me (where -- who knew -- they sell a credible brand of cloth diapers); I have strewn various diapering paraphernalia about my house as if I already use and love it; I have bought a pink cloth diaper, had Eden pee in it and laundered it in hot water -- but it's hard to have a real taste for what using cloth would be like owning only one.

My motivator in this whole ordeal -- chemicals, chlorine and plastics aside -- is to avoid plastic diapers that will sit and sag on the earth for decades to come. I read that each year, one baby's dirty diapers weigh HALF A TON. Come on. So cloth, though not perfect (and not helpful in the water arena) seems a friendly option. I do have some reservations though:

1. These diapers have to be laundered every 2-3 days once in cold water and then in hot. I tend to abandon at least 2 out of 5 loads of our laundry in the washing machine and then find them wet and mildewy a few days later in need of being washed again.

2. The smell of a trashcan full of cloth diapers -- would it be any worse than a trashcan full of regular diaper?

3. Leaving the house usually looks like this for me: I am holding Eden, some stray blanket that is still half wrapped around her, a bag over my shoulder, 4 toy trains Silas has pleaded to bring along, a cup of something caffeinated (actually, I usually forget that on the kitchen table), some letters to mail, and am reaching for Silas's squirmy hand so we can walk through the garage together. Adding 4 pounds of bulky cloth diapering supplies including a bag to zip up heavy wet diapers doesn't sound too appealing... especially for someone who is most happy when carrying nothing.

4. I am all for being organized and planning ahead, but I like the freedom of leaving with no diapers, wipes or change of baby clothes, banking on wipes in the car and a crumpled diaper in the glove box. Cloth diapers would be a whole other ballgame.

All of that said, I know I could rally and embrace this new lifestyle -- I could carry many things and join the world of follow-through laundering, I would just need a few weeks to learn and slip
into routine.

Ben isn't on board right now (which is fair considering the above reservations) -- but I figure I have a couple of years of diapering ahead of me and have time to work on him. Until he's convinced, I have found two decent options: SeventhGeneration and Nature Babycare. They are both "biodegradable" (which I have learned means nothing when diapers are going into a landfill -- only helpful if we were composting), but at least they are made with fewer chemicals and oil-based plastics, and no chlorine. The Nature Babycare (diapers.com or Target) are corn based and so far so good.

Silas votes for disposable so we can continue wearing diaper hats (if you have never worn one you should try it):